top of page
Search

How the COVA and CSLE approach have helped my learning process


The COVA (Choice, Ownership, Voice, and Authentic Learning) and CSLE (Creating Meaningful Learning Environments) approaches have been instrumental in transforming my educational experience by shifting focus from traditional instructor-led methods to a more student-centered paradigm.


1. Choice: The freedom to choose how I approach tasks and projects has allowed me to engage more deeply with the material. This autonomy has fostered a sense of responsibility and investment in my learning journey.


2. Ownership: By taking ownership of my learning, I have developed a greater commitment to my educational goals. This sense of ownership has motivated me to go beyond superficial understanding and strive to master the topics I am passionate about.


3. Voice: The COVA approach has provided me with opportunities to express my perspectives and ideas. This inclusion of my voice in the learning process has not only increased my confidence but has also enriched my learning through meaningful dialogue and collaboration with peers and instructors.


4. Authentic Learning: Engaging in real-world projects and problems has made learning more relevant and applicable. This authentic learning has bridged the gap between theory and practice, allowing me to see the direct impact of my education in real-life scenarios.



The CSLE framework complements the COVA approach by creating an environment conducive to meaningful learning. Emphasizes the importance of designing learning experiences that are engaging, challenging, and connected to real-world contexts. This has helped me see the value in what I am learning and stay motivated throughout my educational journey.


Apply the COVA approach to create meaningful learning environments

To create meaningful learning environments for my students using the COVA approach, I will:


1. Offer options:


Offer a variety of project topics, formats, and assessment methods to meet different learning preferences and interests.

Allow students to select the tools and resources they find most effective for their learning.

2. Promote ownership:


Encourage students to set their own learning goals and track their progress.

Involve students in the decision-making process about classroom rules, project deadlines, and evaluation criteria.

3. Amplify your voice:


Create opportunities for students to share their ideas, reflections, and comments through discussions, presentations, and digital platforms.

Value and incorporate student contributions in the design and execution of the curriculum.

4. Ensure authentic learning:


Design projects and tasks that are based on real-world challenges and require critical thinking, problem-solving, and creativity.

Connect learning activities to students' interests and future career aspirations to improve relevance and engagement.


By integrating the COVA approach within a CSLE framework, I will create a learning environment that not only supports academic success but also fosters personal growth, critical thinking, and a lifelong love of learning. This holistic approach will prepare my students to thrive in an ever-changing world and become proactive, self-directed learners.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 Maria Santiago Rivera. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page